An entryway we can use

Hey strangers!!  Long time no write.  So I finally got the itch to blog again..or should I say enough of an itch to actually write a post rather than get a little extra sleep.  I have been working on various projects around the house and I finished one this weekend that will have a pretty big impact on how we use our entryway.  We have a very small entryway and for years now we have simply hung a 3 prong coat hook from Target behind the door.  The only issue with that is that we were once a family of 4, now we are a family of 6!  I have a 2 coat rule so that is 12 coats at any given time.  I had been seeing entryways all over Pinterest with rows of hooks and pretty board and batten with matching frames and cute little benches.  I knew that an elaborate entryway was out of my reach with the time I have available.  The first plan I put together was a simple board and batten around the entryway with a picture ledge on top.  I stewed on that for a little while, then decided that maybe a simple fix would be more in line with what I can accomplish.  I put together a couple of sketches and decided on one of them to move forward with.

entry sketch

 

 

I measured each wall and and purchased enough 1x4x8 to do the job.  Annnddd… I used a circular saw for the first time.  Seriously, what took me so long??  It’s so simple.  I guess that’s the typical new DIYer fear of the unknown.  So I got all of the boards cut to size and enlisted my husband to get them hung for me.  (note to self – invest in a good power drill).  Everything was going smooth until my husband realized that the boards for behind the door were too short.  Womp womp.  So much for measure twice, cut once.  I had forgotten that just because it says it’s a 1 inch thick board, it isn’t actually 1 inch thick.  Back to the store.  Of course, we don’t get to just “run to the store” where we live, I had to wait until I was back in town to get it.  That night I cut it down and Jeff hung it for me.  Now the fun part – patching, sanding and painting.  Um, yea, not really.  Have I mentioned that I have a 3 and 1 yr. old?  I do all projects like this in spurts…as in when I can edge a wall, I do.  Paint brushes and rollers in the fridge for a week or so is nothing new.

Entryway before paint

Here we are all patched up and ready to start priming. I only did one coat of primer, and 2 coats of paint.  I would probably have been better served to do 2 coats of primer, but it all worked out and I think it looks good.  Once it was all painted I had Jeff help me hang the coat hooks.  I chose to do 6 behind the door for coats and hats and 3 in front of the door for book bags and purses.  I also hung up our IKEA dog tail hooks for the dogs invisible fence collars and leash.  I still need to repaint the Barley that was previously painted there as well as the adjoining wall.  We have used it for almost a week and I also think we need to stagger the coat hooks…but we shall see.  I want to live with it for a while first.   It looks soooo much better!!  Check out my before pic… our house is in perpetual chaos with little ones running around!!

 

 

 

Before entryway

This is my norm these days… bean bag and couch pillow on the floor where the kids were playing, bags to take the next day sitting in my path for the morning.  Random bag hanging on the door knob so we will remember to take it back to the store.

And now….

entryway after

Improved??  Yes!

Entryway after

Entryway after behind door

So there you have it… I really HAVE been working on projects, just at a snails pace. Smile  What have you guys been up to??

 

 

Updates:  I finally added some pictures to this and I think we can call it done!!

 

 

entry complete

entry art and coats

6 thoughts on “An entryway we can use

  1. The first time I used a circular saw was to cut off the trunk of our first live Christmas tree. Let me just say that is NOT the proper use. 😛 Yay for a functional entryway! We are also in need of one of those!

  2. I love what you did, making a space functional and more stylish too! My feeling is you can never have too many hooks for kids stuff, or baskets for… anything in a house with kids. I really like your wall color too, it is so bright and welcoming

    • Thanks Emliy! I agree there are never enough hooks – kids create chaos- we have to have a way to contain it! 🙂 And that wall color is Valspar- Barley. That was one of the first paints I picked for our home.

  3. This looks fantastic! I would love it if you joined and contribute your awesome posts at my link party at City of Creative Dreams on Fridays 😀 Hope to see you there at City of Creative Dreams Link Party

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

