2013 Resolutions

Or something like that. I tend to avoid resolutions. I feel that if you have a goal, start it when you decide it’s a goal, and it doesn’t need to wait till the new year. But with that said, it’s nice to put together a combined list of goals you want to work towards. This year, I have decided that I am going to put some goals together so I can actually track some progress. And hey, just for fun – have a family resolution for the year!

#1 The easiest goal for me this year is health and fitness. We have been a health-minded family for a long time, and with the birth of a baby and a busy schedule, we have to find time to eat well and exercise. Winter makes it a little harder on the exercise front, but it shouldnt’ be an excuse to not do anything at all. So it’s time to get back on board with being healthy.

Healthy eating

#2 A little different goal for me is to get to a comfortable place with going green. I am having a hard time finding a place where I feel like we are being green, but not forgoing all the things in life that make me happy (or just make life much easier). I love make-up, hair products and food. I have been trying to find products that are organic and as few chemicals as possible. Let’s face it though, I need some products in my life that make me feel good about me. So how much of that can I allow without feeling like I am loading my body up with chemicals? I am not sure..but I intend to find out this year.

no chemicals

#3 A common goal this year – put my house in order!!! Organize, clean and make keeping it clean a little easier. Although decor is my love, at this point I think just getting things put away and clean is going to be a challenge. I must put some time, money and effort into making that job al little easier on all of us in the house.

#4 Make more meaningful time with friends and family. Not only do we have 4 kids in the house, but we both work full-time jobs outside of the home. Time is something we don’t have a lot of. I want to have more memories of family time with the kids and my husband. We also have local family that deserves more of our time than they get. Oh and friends? Well…let’s just say that if you aren’t family living in our home, you don’t really get my time. That’s a little bit of a problem if I want to have a life outside my kids to feel like “me”. I need female time to keep from getting lost in mommyhood and losing myself. I need to be able to have conversations that don’t always include breastfeeding, cloth diapers or sleeping habits. Don’t get me wrong, I am very passionate about those topics, especially breastfeeding, but there IS more to life.

yes to f&f

And that family resolution I mentioned? We have decided that we will all perform at least one random act of kindness each month for the year. Each month we will sit down and talk about what we did. It always feels good to help someone out for no other reason than we can, and there is a need. I would love to see the kids be more attentive to other’s needs, and it can’t hurt myself or my husband either.

So that’s it… I am ready for this year. Are you? What are your resolutions or goals??

2 thoughts on “2013 Resolutions

  1. I love your goals, especially your family goal. It seems like so many people in our society expect things and just want, want, want. For you to teach your kids the value of giving and helping someone else is beyond priceless! GO YOU!!! Happy New Year!

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

