DIY Key Holder

I spent some time working on a long over-due need in our home…a key holder. Things like keys get lost too easily in our home, so we needed somewhere to keep them handy. I didn’t want to buy anything for this project, so I culled my collection of craft and project “stuff” and came up with this. I had some leftover wood from a bedroom project (that I will be posting about soon! The final product) and parts to an IKEA curtain system that I had never used. In the picture below are the tools needed for this simple project.

Tools

1. small piece of wood
2. finishing nails
3. eye hooks
4. wire (I used picture wire)
5. masking tape or painters tape
6. wire cutters
7. paint (I used some acrylic paint I had)
8. paintbrushes (I couldn’t find my craft brushes – so I used what I could find)

I started by painting the wood white, letting it dry for a few hours, then taping off the pattern I wanted. This was the toughest part of the project since I am not a measure and tape kind of person with little projects.

Once all of the paint was dry, I screwed in the eye hooks, measured out the picture wire for how long I needed and attached that to the eye hooks. I strung the key hooks in before I attached both sides.

The last step was to determine where I wanted to hang it and get it on the wall. The front door above the light switch was where we needed it.

Front door

Once hung, I went over the nails with the acrylic paint to hide the nail heads. And.. hang the keys!! Super simple and useful project.

DIY key holder 3a

DIY Key holder 2a

DIY key holder 1a

Anyone else get a little project knocked out over the holidays? How about a big project? I would love to hear what you have been up to!

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

