DIY chevron rug from a towel

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post that I am purging some towels from our home, I decided to see if I could find a way to use a couple of them in other ways in our home.  I have a serious lack of rugs in this house.  As a matter of fact, I have 2 rugs – one in each bathroom.  I really need rugs in the kitchen, I want rugs in other places in the house for décor purposes.  I figured I could try this out, and if it doesn’t work, oh well, nothing lost but a little time and very little of my paint stash. 

 

Ok, well here goes… I am still not decided if this is a success.  I will have to let it hang out for a while.  It was very easy, but I am not sure if you can get it done without the helper that I had Winking smile

 

towel before

One plain white towel.  I cut the end off that has the design on it as well as the edge on the opposite end.  I wanted it to be uniform on each side.

 

measure for lines

Then I used a level (because it was the longest thing I could find to make the lines) and measured lines all the way down the towel every 6 inches.  The tractors had to make sure I was keeping things even.  I then started placing my zigzags pretty much the same way I did in this tutorial where I made a DIY canvas.  You can’t really tell if they aren’t perfect, so just use your best judgment.  I did each row at a time, all zigs, then all zags… make sense??  Of course it does.

 

measure out lines

I just overlapped the tape as I went and trimmed up any edges I didn’t like.  Oh, and I used a plain old masking tape, about 2 inches wide.

 

get help holding tape down

Once all the lines were on, place child on towel to ensure all edges are nice and tight.  The dog on the corners is optional.

 

paint chevron

Next I chose a paint.  I was going to use green, but I forgot I used it all on the green wall.  Yellow it is then!  I used a small sponge applicator since that is what I had on hand.  I didn’t want to use a paint brush because I was afraid it would lay too much paint.  I did end up putting more paint in the first row than I would have liked, but it still worked well.

entire row painted

One line done…

P3051330

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And paired up with my lovely sunbeam mug… coffee just tastes better in that mug.

DIY chevron rug

And here it is… It does look like a towel huh?  My plan is to apply some non-skid backing on it to keep it from sliding as well as give it a little stiffness.  DIY towel chevron rug

I guess we will see how it holds up and if I like looking at it.  I am hoping I like it and can figure out other ways to use towels like this.  It would be awesome if I could make rugs for several rooms to at least use to get the house on the market.  I think I am going to need to break down at some point and actually spend a little money on a real rug.

 

And since I have a love for chevrons, check out this window display I saw at a shopping mall in Richmond a weekend ago.  I couldn’t help but snap a picture.

 

chevron wood wall

 

Anyone else find any items to repurpose lately?  Maybe you made something or bought something you aren’t quite sure about? 

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

