Picture frame gallery

I think I am making progress on our picture gallery…. I’m sure it will change on occasion though and pieces will be added or taken away. I already have ideas about new things and moving frames since I took these pictures. But that’s the beauty of a wall like this, right? It should reflect you and your family…not necessarily a snapshot to a specific time, but a rolling ledger of who we are. Oh the accountant in me coming out… it should be an income statement, not a balance sheet (if you know accounting this will totally make sense..lol, if not, then I apologize for the geek reference).

SO here is where it began. My red wall-that is actually the 2nd shade of red I put on it. The first was very maroon, and I still think this red isn’t the bright red I was going for. I found the wall to be too dark, and it just set a dark mood in the room for me. I felt like it needed to be bright and cheery. Something that made people want to smile when they saw it.

Here is another angle…oh, and for any of your True Blood junkies out there..that is a bottle of True Blood on the counter by the red wall. How cool is that??? Jeff saw that at a customer’s location and they let him take it home. Anyone vamps out there need a fix, we have it. 😉

I have really been into green and yellows lately. And you just can’t go wrong with green. It’s not feminine or masculine to me, so it encompasses both genders in our home. I primed and painted the wall. It took one coat of primer, and two coats of paint. I actually mixed the color myself from some green I had for Garrett’s room and white I had in the closet. I added a touch of yellow to get that shade. It isn’t glossy but a flat paint. I miss the glossy finish already since this is a high traffic area and we have a boxer that drools constantly. (picture drool and a head shake… ugh, but we love her so we just have to manage the drool) I am not 100% on the color, but it worked in a pinch for free. I figure it is such a small wall that if I ever decide to change it I probably won’t have to prime and it will only take a quart of paint. I still need to repaint the trim on this wall as well.

As for the picture arrangement, I threw those up there to get an idea of what I was going to do. I was going to mix frame colors, and even types of frames (there are two clear acrylic frames). I just couldn’t get everything up there the way I wanted it (I had 3 or 4 more frames I was going to use). So I scrapped that altogether and started from scratch.

The fact that I was working with a small wall as well as 2 light switches and a thermostat made this a little tricky to set up. I ended up asking Hannah to help me decide which piece to use as a center piece, then worked my way out from there. This is where I ended up. Like I said, I already have changes in mind.

The pink clock at the top was bought from the dollar store for $1.50, can you believe that? Since removing that large clock, we all had been missing having a clock there to glance at. I had originally planned on painting it, but once I got it up there I decided that it was in line with my push for brighter, cheery colors. The frame next to it has the phrase :”Be kind and be truthful and your life will be fruitful” I put together several frames with motivational and wise sayings. Next to that frame is a little silver and red medallion that says Love that I found at Micheal’s for .50. Below that is a frame that I put together that says “Be so happy that when people look at you, they become happy too” Love that saying! I used a piece of orange scrapbook paper for a matte, and being that my husband is an avid tea drinker, I thought the picture was appropriate for our family. To the left of that is the hand print canvas that I made for the Pinterest challenge (which is also the centerpiece that Hannah chose for this wall).

Here is a chevron print I whipped up in publisher that says “Your imagination is your preview of life’s coming attractions” by Albert Einstein. You can’t read the print very well, so I need to tweak that one a bit.

That orange print there on the bottom right is another quote I put together in Publisher. It says “A person who won’t read has no advantage over one who can’t read” ~Mark Twain Next to that is a little paint chip art I attempted…. that is a definite redo. I tried to do a stamp under the paint chips and it just didn’t work out how I planned. So back to the drawing board with that one.

Here you can see a postcard that I framed from a trip to NYC that Jeff and I took to visit one of my dear friends for New Year’s eve one year. We went to this neat little Thai restaurant to eat. The food was great and the place was ultra cool. This is also a better angle on that paint chip “fail”.

At the very bottom I put one of the labels that we used for wine bottles at our wedding on a piece of chipboard.

And there you have it… the almost complete wall!! I have several other frames to add, I think it needs a more irregular shape like the first attempt I made. Heck, I might just fill the whole wall with frames! Well, all but the bottom portion cause we all know that a toddler passing by will have a hard time keeping his hands off. 😉

Anyone else do any picture hanging recently? Or maybe mix up your own paint? Been to any good Thai restaurants lately??? Please share!

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

