Caramel Apple Trifle

Boss’ Day was Sunday… did anyone know that? Well, my co-worker and I decided that we would whip up a little something for our boss to bring in on Monday. I am very good with desserts, and I really enjoy making things that people will scarf up. Ok, reword that, that sounded way too much like upchuck. SO… I really enjoy making things that people will devour. Enter: my brilliant plan to use my boss and other co-workers as guinea pigs. I had seen on Pinterest that you could boil a can of sweetened condensed milk for 4 hours and it will come out as caramel. I have been dying to try this. sweetened condensed milk in our house is like crack, so how could this go wrong?? ha… I got started on this at around 9:00 pm Sunday night.. mind you, I am not a night owl, bed time for me would be with the baby if I had my way about it. But, things to do, so I stayed up to get this little treat made.

Here is what I started with:
1 angel food cake
1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 can apple pie filling
2 tsp cinnamon

I didn’t have 4 hours to watch a can boil so I opted to make this on the stove top in a saucepan. I poured in the sweetened condensed milk and stirred constantly on low for about 45 minutes.

That’s around the time that ASM decided to wake back up. Off I went to get him back to sleep. I removed the pan from the burner so it wouldn’t burn. That sounded like a good plan right? Wrong! When I came back it was firm, like fudge firm.

Great, it’s 9:30, we live miles from a store and I have to come up with something. I put the pan back on low to see if it would soften when it got warm. Lucky break! It softened right up, so I added some milk and a little sugar to it to thin it out a little. I stirred that around for a while, waiting for what, I am not sure, then turned the heat off the burner and moved the pan away from it. I have to note here, that it never turned that pretty caramel color. It just looked like warm sweetened condensed milk. I am sure I didn’t do it right, like how I read you should use a double boiler. Anyhoo, I didn’t take it off the stove, thinking that if I left it there it would stay warm = soft.
I then took the angel food cake and sliced it in half, then into about 1-1 1/2 inch pieces. Next was the apple pie filling. I must admit, slicing and cooking some apples would have tasted far better. But I knew I wouldn’t be worth a hoot if I stayed up late enough to do all that. I did doctor up the pie filling though. I added cinnamon to it.

Time to build this thing!! I made a layer of the angel food cake on the bottom of a trifle dish (you could use whatever clear dish you want, but I would make sure it’s at least 5 to 6 inches deep to get the pretty layering effect). Mine didn’t look layered like I would normally like… blame it on the “caramel”. I spooned half of the pie filling on top of the angel food cake, followed by half of the “caramel”. Then repeat that process over again with the rest of your ingredients. That’s it! Your done! These types of recipes truly are so simple. I covered it and put it in the fridge for the next day.

Remember how the “caramel” had gotten firm the night before? Well, 2 guesses on what it did in the fridge overnight, and it didn’t stay smooth and creamy if that was your first guess (although I appreciate the confidence in me lol). The whole thing was a big ball of angel food cake/sweetened condensed milk stuff/apple pie. Well, you know how you can remedy that? No, I didn’t put the whole thing back in the saucepan on low again. I just left it out of the fridge to thaw out for an hour or so. Then I drizzled it with store-bought caramel(duh, should have just bought that in the first place since I was short-cutting the apples), and spooned some cool whip on top.

So was this a pass or fail? Believe it or not.. this was a Pass!!! Everyone loved it! I thought it was a little too sweet, should have used pound cake to ground it a little. But overall, it turned out well.

SO has anyone else had a baking debacle lately? Any sinful treats that need to be shared with the world?

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

