DIY Maternity Pants

First, let me apologize for that “teaser” post earlier… I was working from my iPhone and hit publish when I meant to hit save.  Oops!!  Anyway… here is the full post – Finally!!!

I must also apologize for these crappy pics… our camera died on us, so the iPhone is all I had available.  I think a new camera will be a good purchase for Christmas this year!!

 

I had mentioned before that I have been making my own maternity pants.  Well, truth be told, I have made about 6 or 7 pairs.  It’s a little addicting.  And the total cost of the 6 or 7?  Probably around 30 dollars if I am rounding up.  Have you priced maternity clothes lately???  They are so overpriced.  Especially after I found making my own to be so simple and cheap.  And I will once again state – I do not sew!!!  I can sew a straight line, I can do things that are simple, but if it requires a lot of thought or measuring – um, nope.  There are a bunch of tutorials out there, well, a few.  I figured one more couldn’t hurt.  Smile

 

My method…easy.  here goes…

 

My first step was to find a pair of pants and some sort of top to use for my belly band.  I picked up a pair of grey slacks from Goodwill, then found a tube top that I have had for about 10 years – and I do not exaggerate there lol.  Tube tops are actually my preferred top for this project since they already come equipped with elastic around the top. 

 

Other supplies needed:

Scissors

pins

sewing machine

thread

patience!

 

I started out by removing the zipper

 

Grey pants

 

move zipper DIY maternity

I think this was the most tedious part of this project.  Once it was removed I needed to close up the fly.  I simply pinned it closed and sewed a quick straight stich close to the outer edge.  Most tutorials tell you to hand sew it…and this might have been a little prettier – but it was much easier to just use the sewing machine to sew it closed.  I forgot to get a pic of that right after I sewed the fly shut.

pin fly DIY maternity

sew zipper DIY maternity

I found it to be easier to finish the fly before I moved on to the waistband, you may find it doesn’t matter.  So next I cut off the waist band right below it.

waist band DIY maternity

Cut wasit band DIY maternity

waist band removed DIY maternity

I chose to leave on the bottom part of the belt loops.  It just looks nicer once completed.  When I made jeans though, I removed those because it was just so difficult to sew over them.  I also noticed that on these pants, the pockets were sewn to the waistband, so once that was removed, the front of the pocket wasn’t attached to anything.  Although I could have pinned this together and sewn it all at one time when I put together the pants and the top, I find it easier to secure these parts before trying to deal with the top.  I pinned it down and put a quick stitch in the top of each pocket.  Every pair of pants you work with will have a different little glitch like this… just do what you think will work!

 

pocket DIY maternity

pocket 2 DIY maternity

pocket sewn DIY maternity

 

The next step was to attach the tube top.  I simply turned it inside and and slid it top down over the top of the pants.  Right sides should be facing each other, and the top part should be down towards the feet.  If you are in doubt of how you put them together, hold them as best you can together and turn the tube top back up – does that work?  I pinned it all the way around starting at the seams and working around the back first.  I pulled the back tight so that the tube top covered it all, and this part of the pants doesn’t need to be extra stretchy to wear.  The front on the other hand you want to try and avoid stretching too much since it will need some room to stretch once your belly grows.  I should also note that I put my pins up and down, rather than running horizontal to the waist.  I found that putting them horizontal they would slip and not hold the pieces together quite as snugly. 

pin top DIY maternity

Your in the homestretch now!  Now you need to sew the two pieces together.  I started the machine at the seam, and chose a stitch that I thought would be the strongest.  This seam will take a lot of abuse, so use strong thread and a strong stitch.

top sewn on DIY maternity

inside of pants sewn DIY maternity

I kept getting hung up in the thick spots – as you can see from that little blob of thread where the fly is.  I was just patient, didn’t try to push things through and used a function on my machine that raised the back of the foot some to allow for bulkier fabrics. (I had to look that up in the owner’s manual)

 

And here you go… all done!!

pants done DIY maternity

And I did see a mistake… see the right side pocket?  Here, I will give you a close up…

mistake on pocket DIY maternity

Yea, missed that.. I should be more careful in the pinning process to get those spots under a pin!  My mistake and lesson learned hopefully helps one of you!  And to see them in action?

DIY maternity front

DIY maternity

DIY maternity with shirt

 DIY maternity peak

I hadn’t adjusted the top of the tube top yet to fit right above my belly.  I wanted to wait a bit until my belly was bigger, and I wore them for a while just folded down until I decided how I liked it. 

I didn’t take any pictures of that process, but it was also super simple.  I folded the top part down, and then sewed right above the elastic, then cut off the extra part.  It was a lot like the jean hemming tutes you see out there (which DO work FYI).  It was nice to wear it like a tube top for a while though as you can see in one of the above photos, it doubled as a cami. 

 

Well… that is it.. my DIY maternity pants.  I have done shorts, jeans, and some capris.  And  I know that if I need more, it’s so simple and cheap to do!  Anyone else been doing some simple sewing lately?

6 thoughts on “DIY Maternity Pants

    • Thanks so much! I’m hoping to do a “fashion show” post with all that I made at some point. :) And that Quinoa “mac” and cheese is going to be on our dinner table in the near future! I can’t wait to check out the rest of your recipes!

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

