Updates on life and pregnancy

Can you beleive that I am actually writing a post? Nah, me either. Seems like it has been forever since I have had the energy or even desire to write a post. Now that I am past all the morning sickness, well into the second trimester, I am getting some more pep in my step.

So what have I been doing for the last few months? Well, besides just trying to make it through bouts of morning sickness, we have seen the new munchkin a couple of times and even found out that we will be having another little boy. I have finally gotten back at some of my home decor/DIY projects. I have even been trying my hand with sewing some repurposed maternity clothes. The kids are now on summer break and getting back from camp today….. and planning vacations and other fun summer stuff before school starts back up.

I bet your wondering what I am talking about with those repurposed maternity clothes? Well, when I’m pregnant, I love me some full panel maternity bottoms. They are just comfy and make me feel all supported in my belly. Did I mention that maternity clothes can get pricey? And they will only be worn for, umm, 129 more days. Give or take a few of course. I have no desire to spend a bunch of money on clothes right now. So I culled the web for alternatives. Of course, the web delivered. I came across a bunch of pants tutorials as well as shirts.

Here are a couple that I found:

All via Pinterest. Here are the links to the blogs: 1. Create Studio 2. icandy handmade 3. Sew like my mom

My game plan was to pick up a couple pairs of jeans from Goodwill, maybe a couple of baby Ts and make some jeans. So I stopped by and picked up 2 pairs of jeans. I wore each pair before I made changes to be sure I really liked them. Wel turns out one pair I can’t bear to cut up, so they will go in my rotation for post-baby. I will just go ahead and grab a pair from my drawer to replace them. I started on the other pair of jeans. I followed the tutorials, but kind of mixed 2. I didn’t want to cut the back waist off so I just cut the front. No go. I will need to make some adjustments on that pair. Oh and get some elastic, cause they must have that. I am going to see what I can do with them this weekend. I also plan on making some shorts and dress pants. I came across 2 tube tops I was going to get rid of that would be perfect to just sew onto a pair of jeans for the full panel. Score! :) I will post pics once I have them finished!

Oh and about this new little munchkin – I had a great reveal pic planned. Something like this:

Photo found here.

But… I was afraid I couldn’t get the box in the car with the kids, then I forgot to get the balloons. Ugh… preggo brain!!! So we improvised. I ran to the dollar store and we did this:

Ashton was supposed to be holding an “a” but after 2 popped balloons we said forget it, just get a smiling pic!!! Oh and please disregard how incredibly dirty Ashton is… he is ALL little boy! He and Garrett were playing..lol

Oh and I swapped the kids rooms around. Garrett and Ashton will be sharing a room, and Hannah’s will be getting a fun makeover. Hannah had the bigger room, so it just made sense to have the 2 boys take that one and set Hannah up in the other. I am excited to get it all done. I’m also excited for Ashton to move in there with Garrett, that will prove to be much harder than painting all the walls and moving furniture!!

But that’s me… at least what I can think of at the moment. What about you?

2 thoughts on “Updates on life and pregnancy

    • Thank you Whitney! I have tried out a couple of maternity bottoms and will be posting on it very soon… it was a success! I am hoping it’s gone for good too, I’m enjoying the energy and good feeling of the second trimester!!

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

