What I have been up to

It’s been a while since I have been here…it seems that my body has been keeping me busy trying to create a new life along with the many projects I have lined up for myself.  My energy levels in the evenings (when I write my posts) is, well, non-existent.  For some reason I have a little burst of energy tonight so I am going to take advantage of it! 

If you remember, I started putting together ideas for the master bedroom in this post.  I didn’t waste much time getting started.  Since we will be getting the house on the market before the end of March, I need to wrap up the majority of this project A-S-A-P.  I also decided that rather than waiting for all the info, I will post it as I go.  So the first project on the list is the board and batten on the walls.  There are some good tutorials out there, and it really seems like a no-brainer on how to put it up.  And CHEAP!!!  Love that part too. 

 

I got started with some furring strips that Garrett and I sanded down 3 sides to get them nice and smooth.  Then Jeff made all of my cuts for me.  I think the hardest part of this was deciding whether I should take out the baseboards or not.  I did buy the boards to replace them, but then decided that I didn’t want to tackle that.  Instead I am using the boards I purchased as the top part of the batten to make a thick edge to place a ledge on.  Check out these pics of the in process work:

 

First I painted the top half of the wall.

Pebble grey walls

 

Next I put some lines on the wall to keep the top edge straight.

lines on wall

And then I marked the wall on each stud by using a stud finder.  I went ahead and taped up each board so that I could get an idea how they would fall and if I needed to fill any spaces. 

all the boards up

The bottom edge was my biggest concern, and although it does hang over some, I don’t think it will be very noticeable once it’s all painted white.

bottom edge

Here is what the top boards and ledge will be like.

ledges

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So that’s where I am.  I need to permanently attach those boards with some liquid nails and nails, fill holes, prime them and paint them all white.  That’s on the agenda for this weekend.  I will try and fit that in with the home and garden show that is going to be at the Salem Civic Center on Saturday.

 

I have also been working on the master closet, so I thought I would share my current jewelry situation.  I think I am going to change it up and do some purging.  Here is what  it looks like now.

 

earring organization

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t have any plans for it just yet.  But something on a smaller scale would probably work. 

 

And in case you missed it, I did share some news last week… I am expecting a new little member of the family in November.  Smile  We are hoping for a girl I think.

 

What have you guys been up to lately?

13 thoughts on “What I have been up to

    • Thank you so much for the congrats and for being a follower! The color I used was Glidden Pebble Grey, I love it so far as well! Of course, anything would look better than those stark white walls! :)

  1. Congratulations on the new baby!! It is so exciting to know you are expecting isn’t it? But I feel you on the lack of energy during the first trimester. I love the wall idea. I can’t tell you how many times I have dreamed of this for my future non-rental home. Love it. Check the Mini-Manor Blog for inspiration on her paneled wall in the MB and her jewelry storage out of bamboo cutlery trays. Compact and beautiful!

    • Thanks so much Andrea! I love Mini-Manor! That paneling in her bedroom is wonderful, isn’t it? I actually prefer that over the half way, just didn’t want to fool with replacing the top moulding either. Call it laziness lol Have you seen the Teal and Lime dining room? Really nice as well! And love the jewelry storage! There really are so many options!

  2. You’re doing a lot for a pregnant woman! I’m lucky to get the floor vacuumed in your shoes! I did something similar to the walls in my dining room — it does seem to be popular :). Keep on keeping-on!

    • :) I appreciate that! I actually feel like I am getting nothing accomplished…end of the first trimester – so let’s see if things improve! Thanks for stopping by!

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

