Pinterest art challenge!

Amanda over at Our Humble A{Bowe}ed announced a Pinterest art challenge a week or so ago.  It’s been a while since I participated in a challenge, if you remember, I did this little canvas for the fist one.  I love when I see these challenges, cause you know that you have pinned at least 5 things that say “Must do this!”  And…. you never get around to it.  You don’t? Well, I do…so, I decided that since I had a pin I have been looking at for a while, and all of the supplies at home already to do it, that I should jump in with 2 feet on this challenge. 

I had pinned this lovely canvas a while back.  I love some chevron and was really wanting to find ways to add it into my home.

226939268692898796_Gg4eyFyI_f

 

Then I found where someone else had done it as well.  Here is the pin, for over at the embellished nest I used as a tutorial for my project.

 

226939268692847335_WVvqcCuS_f

Let’s get right into it.  I chose to get the kids involved with this one as well.  They love to help out, and I love having projects that we can keep for years made by them.

My supplies – plus several paint brushes, acrylic paints and little hands.

1

 

I followed the advice from my tutorial and measured out where I wanted my stripes to be.  I did this on both ends so that I would have markers to line up my tape.

2

 

Next I taped the straight lines that would serve as anchors for my chevron pattern.

3_picnik

4

 

I thought this next step might be tricky, but it wasn’t at all!

I simply marked the first side where I wanted it, judging distance without measuring.

5

 

The rest was easy peasy.

6

 

Now for the fun part!!  Painting!  I let the kids do most of this.  I filled in some spots and generally tried to convey to them what I was looking for.

Paint brushes in hand and paint ready… they went to town!

7

8

 

I think at one point Jeff even got involved. Smile

And here you go…all painted!  I added some silver metallic for some shiny contrast at the end.

9

 

I let it dry overnight.  And when I looked at it in the morning I realized I had missed an important color.  Oops!  Yellow!  I had some puff paint handy, so I just streaked around some yellow and white puff paint to brighten it up a bit.  I ended up having to use an exacto knife to gently slice the puff paint where the tape edges were so that when I pulled the tape off, the puff paint wouldn’t slide off with it.

And here we go… project complete!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

12

I have gotten into the whole staging thing, can you tell?  lol  I am still getting the hang of it.  I really like how this turned out…and the fact that the kids made it makes it double awesome!

 

Anyone else do some DIY stuff recently?  Any fun kids projects?  Please share! I love to hear what others are doing! 

UndertheTableandDreaming

16 thoughts on “Pinterest art challenge!

  1. Pingback: Friday’s DIY Links « pretty imperfect

  2. Pingback: Master bedroom reveal – almost 4 years in the making! | wherelovemeetslife

Tell me what you think! It totally makes my day to hear from you...

